family

My Puyu

image

Today, I was very tired after college. I threw my bag away, somewhere on my way to the sofa. (my mom always complain that I was much more ‘organised’ as a kid.)
I lied down lazily on the aquamarine ‘L’ sofa, hugging the big cushion on its side, listening to my mom say random stuff. Suddenly she changes the topic.
Ammu, promise me you won’t cry.
I will. What is it?
No no, promise.
Just tell me.
I was playing with Puyu. He fell, and broke his spinal cord. He passed away. I’m so sorry.

image

I suddenly experienced an Agnes moment, when purple Kevin snatches her unicorn.
Ente Puyu. Ente Puyu. Ente Puyu.
I thought you would notice it immediately, but you were so busy for the past two days.
Ente Puyu. Ente Puyu. Ente Puyu.
I cried again.
I had bought the puzhu (worm) from a vendor who suddenly appeared opposite my college gate. I named him Puyu – how I used to pronounce Puzhu as a kid.
Sob. Sob. How happy we were. He loved to play with me. He loved to play with mum too.

image

But now, he is no more. I shall miss pulling his ears, and arms and feet. He had four arms and four feet. But he preferred to crawl. (it’s not easy to walk with so many feet you know).
Oh how I shall miss you my sweet buddy. Who else can stretch so far, and still be in one piece.
Rest in peace my friend. You shall always be remembered.

5 thoughts on “My Puyu

Leave a Reply

