poem

Once Upon A Time

– NM ©

Once upon a time, somewhere
Was born I, and you elsewhere.

Time grew up with you and me; 

And traveled far beyond every sea.

I’ll be in yours, and you in mine –

New characters, chapters, and stitches to save nine.

Don’t read my story from its covers-

Read every page; till you find fossiled flowers. 

A promise to each page, again and again

Till what makes you shine, what makes you rain.

Count not the pages of old tattered book ;

But the innumerable words that fill every nook.

Alive after clear pages beyond The End

With the words you will accordingly lend 

All that’s left of me – a word, a line, a song, a rhyme

For I used to be, Once upon a time. 

– NM ©
2 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time

Leave a Reply

